Memories: “Forever is never forever.”

I have been struggling with memories lately. Avoiding them while awake has only forced them to haunt me while asleep. With persisting nightmares night in, night out, I longed for uninterrupted sleep. I thought I am through with haunting memories; I thought I found inner peace. It appears as though I have not, and it all comes back to me – throbbing. Suffocating my airways and fogging my sight. Then this comes along. And it all makes sense again, even just for a little while. I found peace, even just for a little while.

Memories by Ólafur Arnalds

“Memories. Memories blur into dreams. Light bleeds into truth. Everything unforgiven; everything becoming hallow. Loneliness consumes and there is no way back. The places you played; the places you called home; the people you thought you loved, all of them, reduced to a memory of another life. A life you never lived. All the yesterdays that came from tomorrow, all the tomorrows that never came from yesterday. A new beginning because forever is never forever.”

So I smile knowing that today’s worries will not make it tomorrow, because forever is never forever.

    • The Dumbass
    • February 8th, 2012

    and because tomorrow is always better, God has great plans for you

  1. Beautiful words. I find solace in the thought that “forever is never forever.”
    …all reduced to a memory…
    Profound!

    • True, true. I do too. I believe I stumbled into a euphoric coma of denial; one that I wish not to wake from. And I do like that everything comes with an expiration date.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Make some noise

