Ulterior motives!

“I know what your problem is…”
“What?”
“I know why people always fail you…”
“Tell me! Unlock the mystery for me!”
“You’re too naive”
We live in a world that never seizes to change. Planets never stop circling; the sun always shines; and people always change. It’s as though everyone has their own alarm clock inside their head and every time the alarm goes off – they change.
The problem is, no matter how much we change or try to; there will always be those things that keep taunting us. They never leave. Call them memories, call them flashbacks, call them nightmares, call them whatever you want them to – They won’t leave.
I have written so much about memories and how they captivate us before. But I always seem to come back to one question: Who’s haunting who?
There are times in our lives where we stand against that ticking clock and not welcome change. We seem comfortable at the stage we are in. we enjoy the courtesy of pain – complete numbness. However, it’s not possible to remain constant in a variable situation.
“I wonder…”
“What are you wondering about?”
“Whether you’ll change once you’re in university”
“I won’t”
“Promise?”
“Only if you’d stay by my side”
“I Promise”
The other problem is, everyone else is changing. I laugh ironically at promises given before; that are now as solid as gas. I mock myself at times, thinking how foolish was I to believe that everyone around me is good, and that everyone has a good heart deep inside.
“You have to change”
“How?”
“You have to think of what people’s ulterior motives are to being nice to you”
“There are good people in this world you know”
“You still have to change”
So, I have to change. I have to grow up. I have to stop believing in the good of people. I have to stop believing in people’s promises. I have to stop being naive. That’s a lot to digest all at once.
Whatever happened to simplicity?
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Make some noise

